Could not find GUID for server when opening CRM


The following error occured with one of our clients when they opened CRM.

Error while finding AD GUID for ServerName HB1781$

Crm Exception: Message: Could not find GUID for server: HB1781$, ErrorCode: -2147214038, InnerException: System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x800703FA): Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {080D0D78-F421-11D0-A36E-00C04FB950DC} failed due to the following error: 800703fa.

After doing some googling I found this post telling me to change some settings in IIS.

Set “Load User Profile” to True for the IIS Application Pool “Microsoft Team Foundation Server Application Pool”

To my surprise it seemed to solve the problem. I changed it for the CrmAppPool and all users could now login without any problems.
I still don’t know how this problem could occur, but changing this settings seems to do the trick.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in CRM 4
7 comments on “Could not find GUID for server when opening CRM
  1. Manish says:

    where can I find the this settings “Load User Profile”. Thanks! Manish

  2. Duane says:

    Thanks for the post.

    It did the trick for me as well!

  3. snk says:

    It worked like a charm…Thanks a lot for the tip…Saved me a lot of time, because on Microsoft Social, they were suggesting to take the server off the domain and then rejoin the server to the domain, which is very tricky for an end user. Your trick works a great, just I had to see which Application Pool CRM website was using and once I found that AppPool, I changed its setting.

    Thanks once again. 🙂

  4. Joe says:

    Restarting the CRMAppPool did it for me.

  5. Alastair says:

    IIS Reset worked for me..

  6. Seriously. That was a good read. I will reddit this websites for later.
    I like your style.

Leave a Reply

